Exhibitions

Publications

Home

 

EDF - Public information centres

Permanent exhibitions

2008-2011  

EDF electricity generation facilities

Variable surfaces

Design: Je formule

Our contribution: storyline, script writing, scenography, oversight through completion.

At the foot of power plants

Public Information Centres are exhibitions of varying sizes that are designed in collaboration with Carré noir and aimed at informing the public about EDF activities at the company’s different generation facilities.

The design must meet certain criteria: it must be infinitely reproducible; it must be adaptable for presentation in a venue as small as 100 m2  and as large as 400 m2 and it must cover the local means of generation, whether it be a hydroelectric dam or a nuclear power plant.

We therefore proposed themes that are adjustable in three different sizes. Some of the themes are general, such as electricity generation (history of electrical energy, overview of generation, ecological considerations, etc.), while others develop a specific type of generation (hydropower, fossil-fired and nuclear plants). The number and dimensions of the modules vary from one site to another, but the company’s signature approach and visual identity remain the same.


Special exhibitions

Some of the sites had particular requirements due to their technical or architectural specificities.

The Bazacle is a historic dam located right in the middle of Toulouse. The exhibition extends inside and out, giving new life to the walkways and deck. The purpose is threefold: explain how electricity is generated; give an overview of the rich history and culture of the city; and raise awareness about our fragile environment.

The Rance barrage is one of France’s most visited industrial sites. The tidal power station is situated right between the cities of Dinard and Saint-Malo in Brittany. The discovery centre is located below the bridge deck. From one of its rooms it is possible to see the entire station through a glass window located below sea level. The scenography highlights this particular form of electricity generation, but also presents interesting cultural, landscape and ecological features of the environs.

At Flamanville, the previous exhibition design and scenography were overhauled to meet contemporary standards, and multimedia was bolstered significantly.

The Flamanville facility, home to the EPR under construction, is garnering major attention. As a result, EDF takes special care with its public communications.

Permanent exhibition

Opened June 2011

Rance Tidal Power Station

400 m2

Design: Je formule

Our contribution: storyline, script writing, scenography, oversight through completion.

BARRAGE DE LA RANCE 2011

FRANCE 2008-2011

Permanent exhibition

Opened in October, 2010  

Bazacle Dam, Toulouse, France

600 m2 

Design: Juliette Dupuy

Our contribution: Storyline, script writing, scenography, oversight through completion.

TOULOUSE 2010

Permanent exhibition

Opened December 2013

Flamanville Nuclear Power Station

500 m2

Design: Je formule

Our contribution: storyline, script writing, scenography, oversight through completion.

FLAMANVILLE 2013

Permanent exhibitions

2008-2015

Client: Carré Noir (Publicis Group) for EDF

>>>> Public Information Centres, themed modules

>>> A visit of historic turbines

>> Rance River birdlife

> The “history of electricity” featuring animated portraits of historical inventors.

Expositions

Éditions

Accueil

 

EDF - CIP

Centres d’information du public

Expositions permanentes

2008-2011  

Sites de production d’électricité EDF

Surface variable

Scénographie : Je formule

Intervention : conception du scénario, écriture des textes, conception muséographique, suivi de réalisation

Aux pieds des centrales

Les CIP sont des expositions de taille variable, réalisées en collaboration avec Carré noir, qui ont pour vocation d’informer le public sur les activités d’EDF au sein des divers centres de production d’électricité.

Les modules répondent à plusieurs contraintes : il s’agit de concevoir une exposition reproductible à l’infini, qui puisse prendre place dans un espace réduit à 100m2 comme dans une salle de 400m2 et traiter du mode de production local, qu’il s’agisse d’un barrage hydroélectrique ou d’une centrale nucléaire.

Nous avons donc proposé des modules thématiques, disponibles chacun en trois tailles. Certains modules traitent de thèmes génériques à la production électrique (histoire de l’énergie électrique, panorama des production, les enjeux de l’énergie, les apports de l’écologie...), d’autres détaillent un mode de production spécifique (centrale hydroélectrique, centrale thermique à flamme, centrale nucléaire). Le nombre et la dimension des modules varie d’un site à l’autre, mais le discours et l’identité visuelle de l’entreprise restent identiques.


Les expositions spécifiques

Certains sites ont demandé un traitement particulier, du fait de leur spécificité technique ou architecturale.

Le Bazacle est un barrage historique situé en plein centre de Toulouse. L’exposition se développe à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur, animant les coursives et la terrasse. Il s’agissait d’expliquer comment l’électricité est produite, de donner un aperçu de la richesse historique et culturelle de la ville et enfin de sensibiliser à la fragilité de l’environnement.

Le barrage de la Rance est un des sites industriels français les plus visités. Cette usine marémotrice est construite entre les villes de Dinard et de Saint-Malo. L’espace de découverte est sousterrain et une baie vitrée y offre un panorama sur l’ensemble de l’usine située sous le niveau de la mer. La muséographie présente ce mode particulier de production électrique, mais développe aussi les points culturels, paysagers et écologiques des environs.

Avec le site de Flamanville, la scénographie et la muséographie des sites précédents sont revues en profondeur pour répondre aux standards contemporains. La présence des multimédias est nettement accrue, l’approche est également plus ludique.

Le site de Flamanville, qui accueille l’EPR encore en construction, est le centre de toutes les attentions. EDF porte donc ici une attention particulière à sa communication vers le grand public.

Exposition permanente

Ouvert en juin 2011

Usine marémotrice de la Rance

400 m2

Scénographie: Je formule

Intervention : conception du scénario, écriture des textes, conception muséographique, réalisation des multimédias, suivi de réalisation

BARRAGE DE LA RANCE 2011

FRANCE 2008-2011

Exposition permanente

Ouvert en octobre 2010  

Barrage du Bazacle, Toulouse

600 m2 

Scénographie : Juliette Dupuy

Intervention : conception du scénario, écriture des textes, conception muséographique, suivi de réalisation

TOULOUSE 2010

Exposition permanente

Ouverture en décembre 2013

Centrale nucléaire de Flamanville

500 m2

Scénographie & graphisme : Je formule

Intervention : conception du scénario, écriture des textes, conception muséographique, réalisation des multimédias, suivi de réalisation

FLAMANVILLE 2013

Exposition permanente

2008-2015

Maître d’ouvrage : Carré Noir (groupe Publicis) pour EDF

>>>> Les modules thématqiues des CIP

>>> Visite au sein des turbines historiques

>> Présentation de la faune aviaire de la Rance

> La section «histoire de l’électricité» mettant en scène des portraits animés des inventeurs historiques